How to define "Default" WordPress access settings

The concept of the “default access settings” is one of the most powerful ideas that was introduced in AAM version 4 upon numerous requests from a lot of members of the WordPress community. It is also one of the most mysterious concepts, and I’ve written this article to give you all the necessary information about it.

It is strongly suggested to check WordPress settings inheritance with AAM to get familiar with the way AAM propagates access settings.

The “default access settings” are settings that are defined for all the WordPress roles, users, and visitors. These settings are automatically inherited by everybody unless explicitly overwritten for any individual role, user, or visitor.

When it comes to manage access to the WordPress content (posts and terms), AAM has actually three different levels of default access settings so you can have unlimited possibilities to define granular access to your restricted or premium content. Learn more about this from Manage access to the WordPress Posts and Terms article.

Managing “default access settings” is a very easy task, however please be careful as you manage access to all users including yourself.

Simply go to AAM and on the Users/Roles Manager Panel switch to “Manage Default Access”. This will reload the Main Panel to show you the list of all features that can be used to manage access settings and properties.

AAM Manage Default Access

Note! You are not allowed to manage list of capabilities when switched to “Manage Default Access” because capabilities can be managed only for individual role or user.

To override any access settings or properties, you can switch to the desired role, user, or visitors and then override whatever you need to. You will notice a message “Settings are customized” in the orange banner.

AAM Settings Customized Banner

Get notified about important updates and new features (no more than one email per month).